What Evangelicals Can Learn from Secular Feminists

The is the opening of a piece I wrote for The Wheaton Tide. Read the rest here!

I am a Christian. And I am a feminist. I am usually identified by one or the other, depending on what makes me the outlier; when I was in high school I was recognized more strongly by my Christian identity, but at Wheaton I am predominantly recognized by my feminism. And yet all along I have been, and still am, a Christian feminist; together and at once. Standing in the gap between the two is one of the hardest things I do, but I think it is also one of the most important.

The feminist and Christian communities are often placed at odds with one another, as organized religion tends not to be too friendly toward women. In a country with such a strong Christian history and presence, religion is in many ways just another name for political ideology that no one is allowed to attack. Views that may be advantageous to groups in power – for example, white people benefitting from a system that privileges themselves over other races or ethnicities, or men benefitting from the disenfranchisement of women – are justified by the manipulation of religious doctrine. When our political response to gender issues revolves around some variation of “for the Bible tells me so,” it’s easy to see why Christianity gets a political reputation – and in the circles I travel in, a negative one at that.

Click here to keep reading on The Wheaton Tide!

Leave a Reply

